PS Audio’s Octave Records label announces its first compilation album, Audiophile Masters, Volume 1. The hybrid stereo SACD disc features 10 new and previously released tracks by a variety of Octave Records and other artists including pianist Don Grusin, trumpeter Gabriel Mervine, pop/female vocal group Clandestine Amigo and acoustic guitarist Bill Kopper, plus classical works by Mozart and Schumann and more.

The tracks were recorded in pure DSD with the intent of conveying the music with the highest level of fidelity – and total listener involvement. “We didn’t just want to offer an ‘audiophile spectacular’ disc, although Audiophile Masters, Volume 1 certainly is a state-of-the-art demonstration record,” said PS Audio CEO Paul McGowan. “It was equally important to offer selections that were musically engaging – after all, a great audio experience isn’t just about exceptional sound but making an emotional connection with the music.”

Audiophile Masters Volume 1 (SRP: $29) is playable on any CD, DVD, or Blu-ray player. It also has a high-resolution DSD layer that is accessible only using a PS Audio SACD transport, or by copying the DSD tracks on the included DVD data discs. In addition, the master DSD and PCM files are available for purchase and download from at this link.

“Modern Art” by Bill Kopper leads off the compilation with intimately-recorded piano, acoustic bass, drums and percussion, and the acoustic guitar duet of “The Hitchhiker,” with Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan, captures every nuance of both players’ instruments in exquisite detail and harmonic richness. Don Grusin’s solo piano piece, “Willow Dance,” is a stunning rendition of what a real grand piano sounds like, as played by a master. Want dynamics, depth and tonal color? “Saffron” has all of that and much more. Female vocals are naturally conveyed in tracks like Clandestine Amigo’s “Flying Blind” and Clara Schumann’s “Sechs Lieder, Op. 23, No. 1 Was weinst du, Blümlein,” featuring vocalist Ekaterina Kotcherguina. Additional tracks, some of which have never been released previously, include string quartet, trumpeter Gabriel Mervin’s jazz ensemble, Carl Dixon’s percussion workout “Tambores de Natureza” and more.

Audiophile Masters Volume 1 was recorded and mastered at Animal Lane, PS Audio and Moose Sound LLA studios using the Sonoma recording system. It features Octave Records’ exclusive DSDDirect Mastered 192kHz/24-bit process and 96kHz/24-bit and 44.1kHz/16-bit PCM.

The track listing for Audiophile Masters Volume 1 is as follows:

  • Modern Art – Bill Kopper
  • The Hitchhiker – Taylor Sims and Kyle Donovan
  • Willow Dance – Don Grusin
  • Feels – Gabriel Mervine
  • Saffron – From Color of Sound
  • Sechs Lieder, Op. 23, No. 1 Was weinst du, Blümlein – Clara Schumann
  • Terra de Milagros – Bill Kopper
  • Flying Blind – Clandestine Amigo
  • Tambores de Natureza – Carl Dixon
  • Milanese Quartet No. 6 in B flat Major, K. 159, Second Movement – W.A. Mozart