New The Lost Recordings Limited Edition Triple Vinyl Boxset

Frédéric D’Oria-Nicolas, CEO of The Lost Recordings writes: "In May 2022, while we were working in the archives of the Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (RBB), we came across the original tapes of this mythical recording made in 1955. It was certainly one of the most significant testimonies of the lyric art of the twentieth century: Lucia di Lammermoor, recorded during the performance of 29 September 1955 at the Städtische Oper Berlin, with a cast that included Di Stefano, Panerai, Karajan and Callas." 

Despite the fact that the first fourty seconds of the first tape had deteriorated, when we listened to the minutes of the recording that followed, we heard timbres with a richness and a dynamic that bore no comparison to other recordings that have been known until the present.

It took four months of painstaking work to restore all the brilliance to the orchestra, the Scala choir and to the legendary voices of this poignant slice of history and of music.

Kevin Gray made the cutting and the three records were pressed in our very own workshop in the south of France, MWP, to our usual stringent standards.

"We have to commend Frédéric D’Oria-Nicolas and The Lost Recordings for retrieving the original tapes in Berlin and meticulously restoring them to a quality of sound which surpasses any previous release, thus providing us with the most authentic rendition of that historical performance. Therefore it was only natural for the Callas Foundation to be associated with this publication." - Tom Volf, President of the Maria Callas Foundation
  • Maria Callas, Lucia
  • Giuseppe Di Stefano, Edgardo
  • Rolando Panerai, Enrico
  • Nicola Zaccaria, Raimondo
  • Giuseppe Zampieri, Arturo
  • Luisa Villa, Alisa
  • Mario Carlin, Normanno
  • Coro del Teatro alla Scala, Milan
RIAS Symphony Orchestra
Herbert von Karajan, Conductor
Recorded on 29.IX.1955 at Städtische Oper Berlin, Germany

MONO © 1955 RBB
Remastered ℗ & © 2023 THE LOST RECORDINGS

Hand-numbered edition, limited to 5000 copies
No vinyl repress will be done
  • Remastered from the original analog tapes
  • 40 pages booklet
  • facsimile of the performance program
  • Printed in Italy
  • Pressed at Marciac Workshop Pressings, France
  • 33 rpm Lacquer-cuts: Kevin Gray
  • Electroplating: Marciac Workshop Pressings
  • 180g Triple-vinyl boxset
Texts: Anna Svenbro, Tom Volf, John Ardoin, Maria Callas, Robert Jacobson.