Joe Stilgoe Songs For Old Souls 180g Vinyl NEW

Firmly established as a performer and songwriter of considerable skill, Joe Stilgoe’s first studio album on Linn is a masterclass in giving nostalgia a contemporary twist.

New Songs For Old Souls is Joe’s first studio album for Linn Records, following his signing to the label in 2014. The Digital Deluxe Version comprises fourteen songs with eleven terrific originals by Joe, including three thrilling big band numbers: ‘Nobody Cares Like Me’, ‘Pocket Song’ and a new version of ‘Gold On Silver’, previously heard on Songs On Film Live.

Joe’s seamless ability to mix contemporary style with a fond nostalgia for the Golden Era of Gene Kelly and Louis Prima means his ‘old soul’ finds a perfect match in these ‘new songs’. Joe’s trademark catchy hooks and clever lyrics (full of intricate rhymes and clever twists reminiscent of Irving Berlin and Cole Porter) create an instant familiarity.
Joe also duets with Liane Carroll on a wistful cover of Brian Wilson’s ‘I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times’, one of the album’s three non-original songs.
The Band 
Joe Stilgoe – Piano and vocals 
Tom Farmer – Double bass 
Ben Reynolds – Drums and percussion 
Billy Adamson – Guitar  

Additional Musicians

Chris Storr – Trumpet on tracks 3, 4, 8 & 9 
Nichol Thomson – Trombone on tracks 3, 4, 8 & 9 
Ben Castle – Clarinet and bass clarinet on track 5, baritone sax on tracks 3, 4 & 8, tenor sax on track 9 
Tom Richards – Tenor sax on tracks 3, 4 & 8 
Andy Wood – Trombone on track 5 
Chris Hill – Double bass on tracks 5 & 7 
Liane Carroll – Duet vocal on track 7 
Chris Higginbottom – Drums on track 8 
James McMillan – Trumpet on tracks 1 & 5
Liane Carroll appears courtesy of Quiet Money Productions
The Big Band (tracks 2, 6 & 12)
Mike Lovatt, Pat White, Noel Langley, Andy Gathercole – Trumpets 
Mark Nightingale, Gordon Campbell, Pete Beachill, Dave Stewart – Trombones 
Jamie Talbot, Simon Allen – Alto saxophones 
Ben Castle, Tom Richards – Tenor saxophones 
Phil Todd – Baritone saxophone 
Jamie Talbot, Simon Allen, Phil Todd – Flutes 
Tom Richards, Phil Todd – Clarinet 
Ben Castle – Bass clarinet 
Jim Mullen – Guitar 
Tom Farmer – Double bass 
Matt Skelton – Drums 
Joe Stilgoe and the gentlemen of The Band Backing vocals
Conducted by Evan Jolly. Music preparation and copying by Simon Whiteside.
Recording information:
All songs written by Joe Stilgoe (Kassner Music) except 
‘I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times’ (Brian Wilson & Tony Asher / Rondor)  
‘A Room With A View’ (Noel Coward / Chappell Music Ltd.) 
‘Too Late Now’ (Burton Lane & Alan Jay Lerner / EMI Music Publishing) 
Produced by James McMillan 
All songs arranged and orchestrated by Joe Stilgoe except 
‘Nobody Cares Like Me’ which was arranged masterfully by Evan Jolly 
‘Pocket Song’ and ‘Roll’ were arranged with equal masterliness by Tom Richards 
Recorded at Quiet Money Studios, Hastings, UK, September and October 2014 by James McMillan and Angel Studios, London by Niall Alcott on 14 October 2014 
Mixed by James McMillan at Quiet Money Studios, Hastings, UK 
A&R Philip Hobbs and James O’Driscoll 
Mastered by Philip Hobbs 
Photography by Jordan McLachlan, assisted by Jacob McDowall 
Styling by Emily Streatfeild-Moore 
Design By 
Management by Nick Stewart & Associates (